The Native American Remains Review Committee is composed of seven appointed members, four from nominations submitted by Indian tribes and three from nominations submitted by representatives of repositories. All appointments are made by the director of the Division of Indian Affairs.


Responsibilities


The Committee monitors the identification process of human remains to ensure fair and objective consideration and assessment of all available relevant information and evidence; and reviews findings relating to the identity or cultural affiliation of Native American remains; or the return of Native American remains. The Committee also facilitates the resolution of a dispute among Indian tribes or lineal descendants and state agencies relating to the return of Native American remains, including convening the parties to the dispute if considered desirable. The Committee consults with Indian tribes and the Division in the development of Rules for state NAGPRA make recommendations, if appropriate, regarding care of Native American remains that are to be repatriated.

The members are appointed in staggered four year terms and do not receive any compensation or benefits beyond per diem.

Board Members

Dorena Martineau, Chairwoman
Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah

440 N. Paiute Drive

Cedar City, UT 84720
Phone: 435-586-1112

Fax: 435-586-7388
dorena.martineau@ihs.gov

Dr. Joan Brenner-Coltrain
University of Utah

Department of Anthropology

270 S. 1400 E., Room 102

Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-8366

coltrain@anthro.utah.edu

Betsy Chapoose
Ute Indian Tribe - 
Uintah and Ouray Reservation

PO Box 190

Fort Duchesne, UT 84026Phone: 435-722-4992

Fax: 435-722-2083

betsyc@utetribe.com

Dr. Glenna Nielsen
Collection Manager, Anthropology

University of Utah

1390 E. Presidents Circle

Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-3876

gnielsen@umnh.utah.edu

Paul Stavast
Museum of Peoples and Culture

Brigham Young University

100 E. 700 N.

Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-0018

paul_stavast@byu.edu

Rupert Steele

Confederated Tribes of Goshute 

PO Box 6104

Ibapah, UT 84034
Phone: 435-234-1138

rupertsteele@yahoo.com

Patti Timbimboo-MadsenNorthwestern Band of Shoshone Nation
707 N. Main Street
Brigham City, UT 84302
Phone: 435-734-2286
Fax: 435-734-0424
ptimbimboo@nwshoshone-nsn.gov

State Representatives

Derinna Kopp Archaeologist
Utah Division of State History
Antiquities Section
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone: 801-533-3519
dkopp@utah.gov

Shirlee Silversmith Director
Utah Division of Indian Affairs
250 N. 1950 W., Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: 801-715-6702
Fax: 801-715-6767
ssilversmith@utah.gov

James Toledo Program Manager
Utah Division of Indian Affairs
250 N. 1950 W., Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: 801-715-6702
Fax: 801-715-6767
jtoledo@utah.gov

Brad Westwood Director
Utah Division of State History
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101Phone: 801-245-7248
bradwestwood@utah.gov

Resource Contacts