The Native American Remains Review Committee is composed of seven appointed members, four from nominations submitted by Indian tribes and three from nominations submitted by representatives of repositories. All appointments are made by the director of the Division of Indian Affairs.


The Committee monitors the identification process of human remains to ensure fair and objective consideration and assessment of all available relevant information and evidence; and reviews findings relating to the identity or cultural affiliation of Native American remains; or the return of Native American remains. The Committee also facilitates the resolution of a dispute among Indian tribes or lineal descendants and state agencies relating to the return of Native American remains, including convening the parties to the dispute if considered desirable. The Committee consults with Indian tribes and the Division in the development of Rules for state NAGPRA make recommendations, if appropriate, regarding care of Native American remains that are to be repatriated.

The members are appointed in staggered four year terms and do not receive any compensation or benefits beyond per diem.

Board Members

Betsy Chapoose

Cultural Rights and Protection Director
Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation

Dorena MartineauCultural Resource Director
Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah

Dr. Glenna Nielsen-GrimmCollection Manager, Anthropology
Natural History Museum of Utah

Melissa OppenheinCultural Preservation Officer
Confederated Tribes of Goshute

Tim Riley, Ph.DCurator of Archaeology
Utah State University Eastern
Prehistoric Museum

Paul StavastAnthropology Director
Museum of Peoples and Cultures
Brigham Young University

Patty Timbimboo-MadsenCultural/Natural Resource Manager
Northwestern Band of Shoshone Nation

State Representatives

Dustin JansenDirector
Utah Division of Indian Affairs

Derinna KoppArchaeologist
Utah Division of State History
Antiquities Section
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Phone: 801-533-3519

Christopher Merritt, Ph.D. RPAAntiquities Coordinator
State Historic Preservation Office
Utah Division of State History
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
250 N. 1950 W., Suite A

Phone: 801-245-7263

Dominique TalahaftewaAdministrative Assistant
Utah Division of Indian Affairs

James ToledoProgram Manager
Utah Division of Indian Affairs

Resource Contacts

Meghan BantonPhysical Anthropology Assistant
State Historic Preservation Office
Utah Division of State History

Steve HirschiFacilities Director
This Is The Place Heritage Park

Anya KittermanArchaeologist/Cultural Resource Manager
Hill Air Force Base

Liz RobinsonCultural Resources Representative
Utah Department of Transportation